Learn about the Community. Join our Core Community to Get Started

Schneider Electric Exchange Community

Discuss and solve problems in energy management and automation. Join conversations and share insights on products and solutions. Co-innovate and collaborate with a global network of peers.

Register Now
Knowledge Base
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Certified? Are our iBMS LEED USGBC certified?


Are DDC Controllers Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Certified?


Site wanting Green Building Council Certification


Are DDC Controllers Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Certified?


The USGBC does not certify particular devices or controls systems such as I/NET, Continuum, or Xentas. LEED focuses on the design of the building and not on its actual energy consumption, and therefore it has suggested that LEED buildings should be tracked to discover whether the potential energy savings from the design are being used in practice.

Five basic categories make up the design points system. Totaled together, these points determine your certification level. The level of certification depends upon the total number of points. As you can see, energy and atmosphere along with indoor environmental quality factors make up half of the available basic points.

Five categories for accumulating points
1. Sustainable sites.... 26 Points
2. Water efficiency ....14 Points
3. Energy and atmosphere ....35 Points
4. Materials and resources.... 10 Points
5. Indoor environmental quality.... 15 Points
6. Innovation and Operations.... 6 Points
7. Regional Priority.... 4 Points
Subtotal: 100 Points

LEED 2009 for Existing Buildings: Operations & Maintenance
100 base points; 6 possible Innovation in Operations and 4 Regional Priority points
Certified 40–49 points
Silver 50–59 points
Gold 60–79 points
Platinum 80 points and above

The U.S. Green Building Council is a national, non-profit organization that works to “promote the design and construction of buildings that are environmentally responsible, profitable and healthy places to live and work” (USGBC Mission Statement). The USGBC created the Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design® (LEED) Green Building Rating System. LEED was fashioned to provide a standard of measurement for defining a “green” building. It takes a whole building approach that encourages and guides a collaborative, integrated design and construction process. The program evaluates and recognizes performance of your buildings in accepted green design categories—Energy & Atmosphere, Water Efficiency, Materials & Resources, Indoor Environmental Quality and Sustainable Sites. Buildings are given a certification rating based on the number of points they receive in their evaluation. The four levels of LEED certification include: Certified Level, Silver Level, Gold Level, and Platinum Level. By becoming certified, building owners are given third-party validation of their contribution environment; qualify for various state and local government incentives; contribute to the growing knowledge base; receive a LEED certification plaque and official certificate; and receive marketing exposure through the USGBC website, case studies, and media  

Tags (1)
No ratings