43429members
217967posts

user change save blocked by concurrent modification

Highlighted

user change save blocked by concurrent modification

This question was originally posted on DCIM Support by Yilai Min on 2019-12-16


User tried to save some change, but got below error message. It happened multiple times already. 

"Another user or system has made an modification to the data center model. Your changes will not be saved."

This doesn't look right, as to our understanding, DCO should fully support "concurrent modification".

 

(CID:152570253)

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted

Re: user change save blocked by concurrent modification

This answer was originally posted on DCIM Support by Jef Faridi on 2019-12-16


Hi Yilai,

"concurrent modifications" cannot be fully supported. As described in the following page,
https://sxwhelpcenter.ecostruxureit.com/display/UADCO8x/Understanding+what+Happens+when+Multiple+Use...

simultaneous edits may cause conflicts. If you and other user(s) simultaneously modify the same equipment, you will be prompted with a multi-user warning and you/user(s) may get notifications as you've mentioned. So, usually the first Save may be successful and the user who save his/her changes the last will lose his/her changes.

In a multi-user environment, it is recommended that users should avoid working/editing the same equipment and preferably saving changes frequently. This will redice the amount of changes lost in case of a multi-user conflict.

Kind regards

(CID:152570276)

Highlighted

🔒 Closed

This question is closed for comments. You're welcome to start a new topic if you have further comments on this issue.