This question was originally posted on DCIM Support by Richard Crowe on 2014-10-15
Can someone tell me if a restore from backup will overwrite the network information entered into a DCE appliance prior to the restore?
Solved! Go to Solution.
This answer was originally posted on DCIM Support by bredaconsidine on 2014-10-15
The DCE appliance will keep the network information configured (IP address, subnet mask, gateway, DNS, secondary DNS, etc) when you restore from a backup that has different network information. So if you are restoring a backup created on a physical DCE into a DCE virtual appliance, the DCE virtual appliance's network configuration will stay as configured and will not take the network configuration (IP address, DNS, Gateway etc) of the backup.
Make sure that when you restore from a backup from a different machine, to have the same or higher hardware spec as the physical/virtual machine.
Let me know if this is what you are referring to.
This comment was originally posted on DCIM Support by Richard Crowe on 2014-10-15
This comment was originally posted on DCIM Support by Jeff Harrold on 2015-08-21
No it doesn't overwrite the Network info but it does over write the private network IP info if you have configured the second Network adapter. Depending on how much data you have, you may need 2 virtual disks. Our hardware server only has 1 hard drive but the VM had to have 2 drives for it to work properly. Thick provisioning as well.
Discuss challenges and get support in energy and automation with 30,000+ experts and peers.
Over 10,000+ support articles are available to help you find answers to your product and business challenges.
Find peer based solutions to your questions. Provide answers for fellow community members!